“Grand Larceny (Theft) Laws” in Las Vegas Nevada

Nevada law defines Grand Larceny as intentionally stealing the property of another person worth $1,200 or more. The offense of ” petit (petty), larceny would apply if the property stolen is less than $1200.00

Stealing is the act of taking property from another person or entity without their permission. The following are common Grand Larceny Nevada scenarios:

  • Shoplifting – Taking money or goods from stores
  • Using an ATM to withdraw money from another person’s bank account without their permission
  • Theft of furniture or other items from a hotel room or
  • Stealing farm animals from someone else

Prosecutors can use many methods to determine if the property is worth $1,200 or more. They might look at:

  • Price tags
  • Current market value and/or
  • Expert testimony


The penalty for Grand Larceny Nevada is determined by the property the defendant was accused to have taken:

The Value of stolen property Grand larceny is punishable
From $1,200 to not more than $5,000 Category D felony

  • You could spend 1 to 4 years in Nevada State Prison.
  • Restitution payments
  • Fines up to $5,000 (at the discretion of the judge)
From $5,000 to not more than $25,000 Category C felony

  • You could spend 1-5 years in Nevada State Prison.
  • Restitution payments
  • $10,000 fine (at judge’s discretion).
$25,000 to not more than $100,000 Category B felony

  • You could spend 1-10 years in Nevada State Prison.
  • Restitution payments
  • Fine of $10,000
$100,000 and more Category B felony

  • One to 20 years in Nevada State Prison
  • Restitution payments
  • Fines up to $15,000

Violation of NRS 205.220 constitutes a felony. Defendants who are convicted must wait a minimum of 5 years to have their criminal records sealed.


Possible Grand Larceny Nevada defense strategies which could result in charges being dropped or reduced are:

  • The property belonged to the defendant.
  • The defendant did not intend to steal.
  • The property was valued at less than $1,200 and/or
  • In violation of Nevada’s search-and-seize laws, the police obtained evidence

Criminal charges should be dropped as long as there is not enough evidence to support guilt beyond a reasonable doubt.

// Script for the Ngage online chat code: