How to Acquire Legal Advice When You’ve Been Charged With a First DUI
What Are the Penalties For a First DUI Offense?
A First DUI Offense, Driving Under the Influence, is a serious charge. You will face some minimum sentencing requirements imposed by the justice court if you’re convicted of a First DUI Offense. You have the right to get out of jail as soon as possible if you are facing jail time after your first DUI. The best way to do this is through the use of Las Vegas DUI defense attorneys.
In Nevada, the law requires a person convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) to serve jail time. This means serving time in jail or state prison. It is best for a defendant to seek the advice of an experienced DUI defense attorney who will work to get the charges thrown out or reduced if possible.
These sentence ranges are as follows for a Nevada First DUI Offense:
♦ Incarceration / “Jail Time”
You will be required to spend a minimum amount of time in jail. This time ranges from 48 hours, up to a maximum of 180 days. On a first-time DUI charge, the court has the option of sentencing you to 96 hours of community service. This is opposed to time in jail.
♦ First DUI Offense Fines
The minimum fines the court must impose is $400. However, they can impose up to $1,000. That does not include and court costs.
♦ Driver’s License Suspension
It is required that the Department of Motor Vehicles suspend your driver’s license for a period of 90 days. You will not be allowed to drive at all during the first 45 days. It may be possible for you to get a restricted driving license afterward. This type of license would allow you to drive to and from places such as your place of employment after the first 45 days. This 45 day period is known as the “hard suspension period”.
♦ DUI School
If you are convicted of a First DUI Offense, you will be required to attend and successfully complete a traffic safety school. This school must be approved by the state. This type of school is often referred to as “DUI School.” This type of school will cost about $150 and take 8 hours to complete.
♦ Alcohol Treatment Program
It is sometimes required that you will attend and complete an alcohol treatment program. You will also be required to pay the costs for this program.
Special Requirements for those with a BAC that is over 0.18
For those who have a blood alcohol reading or breath alcohol reading (BAC) that is Over 0.18, there are additional penalties that will normally be imposed by the court. These include the following:
- A DUI Assessment Program. This requires an additional fee of $100;
- A Victim Impact Panel. This also requires a fee of $40.00; and
- You may be required by the court to have a Breath Interlock Device installed and maintained on your vehicle. The time required for this to be in place will range from between 12 to 36 months.
- The court may require that you have a Breath Interlock Device installed and maintained on your vehicle for 3 to 6 months even if your BAC was below 0.18.
- Depending on the results of the DUI Assessment Program report, you may be required to attend a substantial amount of counseling regarding drug or alcohol abuse issues.
Real First DUI Offense Penalties
The penalties that are associated with a First DUI Offense are just the tip of the iceberg when it comes to the criminal charges that are faced by those who were caught while driving under the influence of alcohol. For this reason, it is recommended that anyone who is charged with a DUI, first consult with an experienced DUI attorney. An attorney can not only make sure that you are properly represented, but also ensure that your rights are protected throughout the process. Contact our office right away for a free initial consultation.
Hire A Las Vegas Dui Defense Attorney
If you’ve been charged with a first DUI, you should not hesitate to hire a Las Vegas DUI defense attorney. There are many qualified lawyers available in this highly competitive area. Even if you’ve already been convicted of DUI before, it’s possible to successfully get your charges reduced or dismissed. A good Las Vegas DUI defense lawyer can use the information that you provide to build a strong defense against your first offense.
While it’s important to consider your options for a first DUI defense lawyer, don’t be afraid to confront the officers who put you behind bars. It’s important for you to understand what their initial thoughts are when they pull you over. You can show them that you’re a good driver by telling them how many times you’ve driven without a drink and how safe you are driving. A DUI defense lawyer will also present evidence that may help reduce your sentence. Convincing the jury or judges that you are not at fault for your first DUI is one goal that your attorney will pursue on your behalf.